How Simple Macros compares
Where each app gets its food data, the features other apps put behind a subscription, and a few they don't have at all. Simple Macros is completely free.
Prices, features and data sources checked , from what each app says about itself. Ours are on where our nutrition data comes from.
| MyFitnessPal | ||
|---|---|---|
| Nutrition data | ||
| Whole-food dataBanana, grilled chicken, white rice | USDA FoodData Central | Added by MyFitnessPal and its users |
| Packaged foodsWhat a barcode scan returns | USDA Branded Foods + products users add | Includes member-added barcodes |
| Who adds foods to search | Users, usually from a label photo; two matches = verified | Members can share; check mark = reviewed |
| Restaurant nutrition | Each chain's official numbers, every option | Includes restaurant dishes |
| Estimates marked as estimates | Yes, every one | Not stated |
| Features | ||
| Calorie + macro tracking | Included free | Included free |
| Barcode scanner | Included free | Paid: only with a paid plan |
| AI photo logging | Included free | Paid: only with a paid plan |
| Customize restaurant ordersEvery menu option at 200,000+ restaurant locations | Included free | Not offered |
| Meal GeneratorBuilds restaurant orders that hit your calorie target | Included free | Not offered |
| Log food in ChatGPT, Claude, GrokTrack by talking to the AI you already use | Included free | Not offered |
| Price | FreeEvery feature | $79.99/yrPremium |
Paid = only with a paid plan. No = we didn't find the feature on the app's own pages on that date. Not stated = the app doesn't say on its own website, help center or App Store listing. MacroFactor and Cal AI have no free plan. US list prices, features and data sources as each app describes them on its own App Store listing, website and help center; they can change, so check each app for current details. All trademarks belong to their owners. Simple Macros is not affiliated with or endorsed by MyFitnessPal, Cronometer, MacroFactor, Lose It! and Cal AI. Our own data sources are on where our nutrition data comes from. Last checked .
Side by side
Simple Macros vs MyFitnessPal
MyFitnessPal has a free plan, but its barcode scanner and Meal Scan photo logging need Premium, $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month (US list price).
Read the comparisonSimple Macros vs Cronometer
Cronometer has a free plan with ads and the barcode scanner; AI photo logging and reports past 7 days need Gold, $59.99 a year or $10.99 a month (US).
Read the comparisonSimple Macros vs MacroFactor
MacroFactor has no free plan: it costs $71.99 a year, $47.99 for six months or $11.99 a month (US) after a 7-day trial.
Read the comparisonSimple Macros vs Lose It!
Lose It! has a free Basic plan, but its barcode scanner (moving to Premium; some free accounts still have it), Snap It photo logging and macro goals are Premium, $79.99 a year (US list price).
Read the comparisonSimple Macros vs Cal AI
Cal AI (owned by MyFitnessPal) has no free plan: every feature needs a subscription after a 3-day trial, and the price varies.
Read the comparison